by MUK SOOK MAY

Pa,
I’m fortunate to have a dad like you.
You’ve worked harder than the ants each day
“Never give up,just pray.” you’d always say
Crushing obstacles that block your way
Cheering me on for my exams in May

Pa,
“I’m scared,” I wailed.
You simply brushed my stray hair aside
Braved the long roller coaster ride
With me screaming by your side
I’m thankful,your ears survived..

Pa,
Full of surprises,you are.
You cheer me up when my feelings drown
We sat together munching down
The best potato chips in town
Mum stood watching us with a frown

Pa,
So much to say,so little space
Though I write no “Invictus”
My cooking quite ridiculous
I thank God your love is boundless
And that you’ve finally got yourself a pair of glasses..

                                                                                                                       

Update on the Second Public Announcement: thefourlobes will from now on publish every Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays, and to make sure this can happen, thefourlobes will ‘import’ stories and viewpoints from two special columns in The Malaysian Insider, which is the “Migration Stories” and “Why I Stayed”, to give you some perspective and hopefully an idea and a stand of your own on whether you would stay on or move out from this country.

Cheers,
thefourlobes

